X close menu
Get Tickets Canterbury A&P
Association Website
Brought to you by the Canterbury A&P Association
The aim of ​the New Zealand Aromatic Wine Competition is to highlight to the wine industry and consumers the best wines commercially available.

The New Zealand Aromatic Wine Competition, now in its sixteenth year, focuses on aromatic wines including Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Gris, Gewürztraminer, Viognier and other wine varieties including Muscat, Verdelho, Arneis, Rose and Sauvignon Gris, made in an aromatic style from any internationally recognised region. The purpose of the competition is to highlight to consumers the best aromatic wine varieties available in the New Zealand market for the wine drinker.

The competition is held in conjunction with the New Zealand Agricultural Show, New Zealand’s largest Agricultural and Pastoral Show. Winning wines will be on display in the Food & Wine Village at the Show, 13 – 15 November 2019.

The 2019 wine competition judging will commence on the 5th – 6th of October

Entries close Wednesday 2nd October.

You can enter by returning the below forms to wine@theshow.co.nz 

We have also introduced online entries for 2019, you can follow this process via the below link:

Online Entry Form

Aromatic Wine Competition Entry Form

Winemaker of the Year Entry Form

Medal Order Form 2018 New Zealand Aromatic Wine Competition Results 2018 Canterbury Wine Competition Results

New Zealand Winemaker of the Year

The New Zealand Winemaker of the Year Competition is a specialised wine competition to celebrate the highest levels of ability and achievement for New Zealand winemakers. The competition was created in 2016 to compliment the New Zealand Aromatic Wine Competition.

Letting the wines represent the winemaker, the NZ Winemaker of the Year entrants supply three wines of different grape varieties or wine styles which best demonstrates the scope and breadth of their winemaking ability. Entrants must also send a 100-word bio about themselves and a 300-500 word essay on the vineyard and fruit selection that has gone into the wines submitted.

The 2018 New Zealand Winemaker of the Year was Jen Parr, Valli Vineyard.

2018 Entries
2018 Results
Thanks to our NZ aromatic wine competition sponsors
© 2019 The New Zealand Agricultural Show. Website design and build by Beck & Caul Ltd