Show Legend

Show Legend

Congratulations to Roger Fuller who is the 2022 Show Legend!

Roger has been involved in the wool industry since 1978, donating his time to the Wool section of the NZAG Show for at least 35 years, as both steward and judge. Roger’s storied career as a Senior Auctioneer selling fine wool all over the country (back in the halcyon days where farmers earned 80 percent of their income from their wool clip) has allowed him to meet, in his own words, “some great people”. Roger is quick to acknowledge the contribution of all the volunteers who work to make events like this happen. We are lucky to have benefited from his expertise for so long and thank Richard Lemon and Tim Black for their nomination.

The Show Legend Award was introduced by the Canterbury A&P Association Committee and Management in 2004; it is now an annual Award. The Award honors an individual for outstanding voluntary services to the Canterbury A&P Association and the annual Show.

The recipient demonstrates the attributes of: 

  • Personality
  • Professionalism 
  • Camaraderie
  • Commitment
  • Passion for the Canterbury A&P Association and annual Show
  • Strength of character

The Show Legend may be a steward, marshal, supervisor, crew or general volunteer who the Committee and Management feel has contributed far above and beyond the call of duty. The Canterbury A&P Show is the largest Agricultural and Pastoral Show in New Zealand and the largest single event in the South Island. The ingredient that is the true essence of the success of the Canterbury A&P Association and its annual Show is the people.

The Show Legend celebrates the people who are truly passionate about The Show, many of whom come from families where generation after generation they have given their time freely and enthusiastically to support the A&P movement. It is these people, who up till now have been the unsung heroes, which truly make The Show a success.